Restore deleted MoodleCloud activities or courses

Modified on Mon, 14 Aug 2023 at 12:23 AM

Unfortunately, MoodleCloud does not have a recycle bin feature. Having course backup files and a copy of your significant resources is recommended. If you need help, contact the MoodleCloud Team for more information.


It is recommended for you to create and download regular backups of your courses, users and files - and if needed in future, you can use those to restore your site content. These backups will need to be downloaded and stored somewhere safe if you need to restore a deleted course. If you have done backups and you want to restore a course to a previously backed up version, you can use the backup file stored within the course. If the course has been accidentally deleted, a downloaded backup file will be required to upload to a new course.


Please note the upload limit of 100MB applies to course restoration files - if your course is larger than this you may need to remove large files - then create a course backup file, and save your large files separately, before downloading the backup file.


Course Backup

  1. Visit each individual course and from the Course Navigation options, click More
  2. Click Course Reuse and click on the course you want to Backup
  3. Initial settings - Select activities, blocks, filters and other items as required then click the Next button. 
  4. Schema settings - Select/deselect specific items to include in backup, then click the Next button.
  5. Confirmation and review - Check that everything is as required, using the Previous button if necessary, otherwise click the 'Perform backup' button
  6. Complete - Click the Continue button
  7. A backup file (with distinctive .mbz extension to avoid confusion with .zip files) is then saved in the course backup area. Backup file names are of the form backup-moodle2-course-coursename-date-hour.mbz, ending in -nu.mbz when backed up with no users and -an.mbz with anonymized names. 
  8. Tip: If you are satisfied with the default settings and don't wish to go through all the backup screens, you can simply click 'Jump to final step' to perform the backup. 

Course Restore

  1. From the Manage categories and courses screen, click the arrow next to the chosen category and click Restore (if you have admin or category permissions) or Course navigation > More > Course reuse > Restore if you are restoring into a course.

You can learn more about backup and restore here:

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article